Upcoming IBM webcast on how Java applications interact with DB2
March 8th, 2011

Broadcast date: March 29, 2011, 11 a.m., Eastern Daylight Time, 4:00 p.m. British Summer Time, 3:00 p.m. UTC  

Developed for: IT directors, managers and project managers; business analysts; enterprise architects; database administrators and managers; and, application database administrators

Technical level: Intermediate

Register here

With the pervasive growth of new e-business and mobile applications, professionals who use and manage IBM DB2® for z/OS need to understand how Java applications interact with DB2 - or risk impacting your customers' experience. Java is an object-oriented programming language and the wide usage of Java application generation tools drives a database usage pattern that is different than the database usage pattern typically seen from 3GL languages. In addition, application servers manage database connections instead of specific applications.

Join IBM for this complimentary webcast and learn how you can better manage and control Java applications so they run as predictably as enterprise applications in COBOL. We'll discuss the data persistence models that are the source of the database access patterns and help you understand the database workload patterns generated by Java applications in business critical environments. We will also share tips on how the options provided by WebSphere® and DB2 help you optimize and operate those environments so you can count on running Java applications with good performance, availability and scalability.

This webcasdt will cover:

  • Various architecture options for using DB2 for z/OS from any WebSphere platform
  • How to configure a WebSphere data source
• New functions in DB2 9 and DB2 10 for z/OS, including extended null indicator, extended explain support and time stamp enhancements

Speaker: Maryela Weihrauch, IBM Distinguished Engineer, IBM Software Group